The SMART way to reach your goal

I was recently in British Columbia, Canada for a wellness retreat. Have you ever been to this place?? It is ridiculously beautiful. I can’t stop thinking about it. There are huckleberries everywhere, apple and pear trees, beautiful lakes, and even bears, eh?

The hiking was challenging and I was happy to take a break from Crossfit for a while.

I swam in that lake. Brrr

I swam in that lake. Brrr

I came away with some good information and a list of things to work on back in my real life. More stretching, finding other creative outlets, nurturing relationships, mindful eating, addressing emotional eating… As the list continued to grow, anxiety began to envelop me. One of my guides suggested to our group to take the top two items on the list and work on those only. She used the acronym, S.M.A.R.T. to explain the best way to tackle any sort of project. As she told us what the letters stood for, I realized this is what I do when I work with my clients.

Specific

Measurable

Attainable

Realistic

Timed

Make your goal specific. Make it measurable, attainable, realistic, and place it within time constraints.

For example, take my goal of “do more stretching.” And break it down into something specific. “I will do the 5pm yoga class at Core yoga across the street from me, every Wednesday for the next 4 weeks.” It’s realistic that I can walk across the street at least once a week and do yoga for the next month.

Or take the goal, “I want to balance my blood sugar.” And break it down into smaller, attainable steps, “I will eat breakfast within 30 minutes of waking 4 days this week.”

Don’t let your large goals overwhelm you. Small steps get you up the mountain!

